Previous Recipients of the QEM/MSE Network Giants in Science Award, by Year

(Institution listed is placement at time of award)


      Jewell Plummer Cobb, California State University-Los Angeles, Cell Biology

      Lloyd M. Cooke, Consultant, Polymer Chemistry

      Eugene H. Cota-Robles, University of California, Microbiology

      Henry C. McBay, Morehouse College, Organic Chemistry

      J. Ernest Wilkins, Clark Atlanta University, Mathematics and Mechanical Engineering



      Robert D. Bonner, Hampton University, Botany and Zoology

      Etta Z. Falconer, Spelman College, Mathematics

      Godwin O. Mbagwu, Virginia State University, Organic Chemistry

      Clifton A. Poodry, National Institutes of Health, Cell Biology

      Abdulalim A. Shabazz, Clark Atlanta University, Mathematics



      Eugene DeLoatch, Morgan State University, Engineering

      Manuel G—mez-Rodr’guez, University of Puerto Rico, Physics

      Neville Parker, City College of New York, Civil Engineering

      Leonard Price, Xavier University, Chemistry

      Nellouise D. Watkins, Bennett College, Mathematics



      Juliette Bell, Fayetteville State University, Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics

      Shirley Ann Jackson, Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Physics

      James King, Morehouse College, Chemistry

      Michael Spencer, Howard University, Electrical Engineering

      Conrad Williams, Morgan State University, Physics

      George Castro, IBM Almaden Research Center, Chemistry



      Manuel Berrioz‡bal, University of Texas at San Antonio, Mathematics Education

      Lloyd N. Ferguson, California State University-Los Angeles, Chemistry and Biochemistry

      Vallie Guthrie, North Carolina A&T State University, Science Education

      George E. Miller III, Norfolk State University, Material Sciences

      James A. Momoh, Howard University, Electrical Engineering



       Sylvester James Gates, University of Maryland College Park, Physics

       George C. Hill, Meharry Medical College, Microbiology

       Lynda M. Jordan, North Carolina A&T State University, Chemistry

       Willie Pearson, Jr., Wake Forest University, Sociology

       Richard Tapia, Rice University, Mathematics



       Carlos Castillo-Chavez, Cornell University, BioMathematics

       Aprille Ericsson-Jackson, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Aerospace Engineering

       Billy Joe Evans, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, Chemistry

       Carlos Gutirrez, California State University-Los Angeles, Chemistry and Biochemistry

       Genevieve Madeline Knight, Pennsylvania State University Harrisburg, Mathematics Education



       Rafael L. Bras, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Civil and Environmental Engineering

       Warren W. Buck, University of Washington, Physics

       William W. Jackson, University of California-Davis, Chemistry

       Alice Marie Powell, Alcorn State University, Biology

       Cora Bagley Marrett, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Sociology and Afro-American Studies



       Kofi B. Bota, Clark Atlanta University, Chemistry and Physics

       Johnnye M. Jones, Jarvis Christian College, Science Education

       Gary S. May, Georgia Institute of Technology, Computer Engineering



       Arturo Bronson, University of Texas at El Paso, Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

       Joseph S. Francisco, Purdue University, Chemistry and Earth and Atmospheric Sciences



       Edgar G. Epps, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Education Policy and Community Studies

       Myrtle Thierry-Palmer, Morehouse School of Medicine, Microbiology, Biochemistry, and Immunology

       Isiah M. Warner, Louisiana State University, Chemistry



       Larry R. Dalton, University of Washington, Chemistry

       Michael T. Nettles, Educational Testing Service, Education

       Daniel E. Hastings, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Engineering

       William Y. Velez, The University of Arizona, Mathematics

       Josephine D. Davis, Fort Valley State University, Mathematics Education

       Curtis L. Patton, Yale School of Public Health, Microbiology



       Daryl E. Chubin, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Science and Engineering

       Kenneth C. Millett, University of California-Santa Barbara, Mathematics

       James Mitchell, Howard University,Nanomaterials Characterization

       Carlos David Robles, California State University-Los Angeles, Biological Sciences